Powder Horn Prize long list

Congratulations to the following poets, whose manuscripts were chosen as semifinalists for our first-book contest:


An Accidental Species, by Carol Berg

Blood, Metal, Fiber, Rock, by Elizabeth Bodien

Memory Palace, by Aaron Brown

After Our Departure, by Benjamin Cartwright

The Water in which one Drowns is Always an Ocean, by Jeff Encke

Sometimes at Night Hear the Weeds Crying, by Jim Gustafson

Gravity Dog, by Janet Norman Knox

315 Gods, by Jeffrey MacLachlan

What Spirits Return, by Andrew McSorley

Ulla Ulla, by Catherine Moore

Grist, by Kate Peterson

The Pioneer Sonnets, by Kristen Rembold

They Sometimes Behave So Strangely, by Stephen Scott Whitaker


A shortlist of four titles will be forwarded to judge Nance Van Winckel, with the winner to be announced soon.

Thanks to all of our entrants. Even paring to this list of 13 was a difficult job, given the overall quality of the submissions.

Powder Horn Prize long list

Railtown Almanac prose deadline extended

The submission deadline for the prose edition of Railtown Almanac has been extended to November 1! We want to make sure we get a wide sampling of Spokane-area prose writers, so if you haven’t gotten your stories or essays in, please consider doing so.

Railtown Almanac prose deadline extended

New anthology, “All We Can Hold”


Sage Hill Press is happy to announce that we’ll be publishing the forthcoming anthology, “All We Can Hold,” a collection of poems on motherhood.

The editors seek “a range of voices about what it means to be mother: witching-hour poems of sleeplessness, first smiles, miscarriage. The poems of broken windows and broken hearts, of first school and college days. The poems of lament and poems of fulfillment. We hope to serve as a forum for all voices, for we all have a mother.”

Editors include Elise Gregory, Emily Gwinn, Kate Maude, Kaleen McCandless, and Laura Walker.

To submit work: http://www.allwecanhold.com/

New anthology, “All We Can Hold”

the Powder Horn Prize is now open

Sage Hill Press is now accepting manuscripts for the next Powder Horn Prize, a first book award.

Our final judge will be Nance Van Winckel, author of six poetry collections and three short story collections, and Ever Yrs, a novel in the form of a scrapbook/photo album. Nance is often interested in work that pushes against boundaries or form, genre, and language.

To be eligible, writers should not have previously published a full-length poetry collection (though chapbook publications are fine).

Manuscripts should be at least 45 pages in length, 1.15- or 1.5-spaced. The author’s name should not appear anywhere on the manuscript.

Sage Hill Press follows CLMP submission and contest ethics guidelines. If you are a current or former student of Nance Van Winckel, please do not submit to the contest.

Entry deadline is August 31, 2015. Entry fee is $20, and includes a copy of a past prize-winner. In your cover letter, please indicate which title you’d like, The Eyes the Window by Marci Rae Johnson, or Kill February by Jeffrey Tucker (to be published and shipped fall/winter 2015) and include your mailing address.

All manuscripts should be submitted via Submittable, accessible in the right-hand tool bar on the website, or by clicking here.

the Powder Horn Prize is now open

Railtown Almanac: the Prose Edition

We are now accepting prose submissions for the forthcoming edition of Railtown Almanac. We’re looking for short stories or essays by Spokane residents, or about Spokane (residents need not submit work about Spokane. Non-residents must submit work about or set in Spokane). Please submit no more than four pieces, each up to 3000 words in length. Submissions will be open until August 15, 2015.

All work must be submitted through our online submission system, which can be accessed through our homepage, or by clicking here.

Railtown Almanac: the Prose Edition